If you use marijuana, be warned when driving through Texas
What's the law?
Current marijuana possession laws in Texas are more severe than most other states. Since the punishments tend to be harsher, it is important to know what those laws are if you live in or plan to visit Texas to ensure that you don't violate them.
You need to know
Review the marijuana laws
Violating possession laws
The severity of punishment for marijuana possession in Texas varies depending on the amount found on you at the time. Up to four ounces is considered a misdemeanor and your jail time will not be more than one year. If you are found with more than four ounces you will find yourself facing a felony charge with hefty consequences.
You'll do time for selling
The penalties for selling marijuana are understandably harsher than possession. Sale of up to five pounds can cost you up to two years in jail and a fine of $10,000. If you are found selling more than five pounds, the fine remains the same but the jail time can be as high as twenty years. A risk no one should want to take.
Texas politicians are so against the use of marijuana that they have also passed laws pertaining to the possession of marijuana paraphernalia. Although it is considered a misdemeanor, it can carry with it a fine of up to $500. If you are from out of state traveling through Texas, be mindful of what you are carrying with you.
When You get caught
Regardless of the reason you found yourself facing charges pertaining to marijuana possession, you should contact a lawyer immediately. An El Paso possession of marijuana attorney will be able to provide you with the necessary legal representation and defense for your case.